

NEW YORK STATE COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL CONDUCT

ROBERT H. TEMBECKJIAN ADMINISTRATOR & COUNSEL

MARISA E. HARRISON PUBLIC INFORMATION OFFICER

CORNING TOWER, SUITE 2301 EMPIRE STATE PLAZA ALBANY, NEW YORK 12223

518-453-4600 518-299-1757 TELEPHONE FACSIMILE www.cjc.ny.gov

NEWS RELEASE

May 7, 2024

Contact:

Marisa E. Harrison, Public Information Officer (518) 453-4600

Rensselaer City Court Judge Resigns While Under Investigation

Kathleen L. Robichaud, a Judge of the Rensselaer City Court, Rensselaer County, resigned while under investigation by the New York State Commission on Judicial Conduct.

In 2023, the Commission apprised Judge Robichaud that it was investigating complaints alleging as follows:

- 1. She failed to renew her attorney registration and failed to change her personal email address so it would no longer include her judicial title, notwithstanding that she had sworn nearly a year earlier she had already done so;¹
- 2. She failed to file her financial disclosure statement for 2021 as required in May 2022; and
- 3. She made prohibited political contributions.

¹ In 2022, Judge Robichaud was <u>censured</u> for improperly asserting her judicial office while representing a client when she used an email address that specifically referred to her being a judge: "judgeklr@..."

Judge Robichaud agreed to resign from office on or before May 17, 2024, and agreed never to seek or accept judicial office at any time in the future. The Commission accepted a stipulation to that effect signed by the judge, her attorney and the Commission's Administrator.²

Judge Robichaud waived the statutory provision of confidentiality applicable to Commission proceedings, to the limited extent that the stipulation and Commission's order accepting it would be public.

Judge Robichaud has been a Judge of the Rensselaer City Court since 1996. Her current term would have expired on December 31, 2025.

The stipulation and the Commission's order can be found on the Commission's website: www.cjc.ny.gov.

Statement by Commission Administrator

Commission Administrator Robert H. Tembeckjian made the following statement.

"The public cannot have confidence in a judge who fails to remedy the misconduct for which she was censured, and who engages in new misconduct so soon afterward. Judge Robichaud's departure from the bench is appropriate in these circumstances."

Statistics Relating to Prior Commission Decisions

The Commission has accepted 134 such permanent resignation stipulations since the procedure was instituted in 2003.

Since 1978, the Commission has also issued 283 determinations of admonition against judges in New York State, 351 determinations of censure and 183 determinations of removal.

The Court of Appeals has reviewed 102 Commission determinations. The Court accepted the Commission's sanctions in 86 cases (77 of which were removals, six were censures and three were admonitions). Of the remaining 16 cases, two sanctions were increased from censure to removal, and 13 were reduced: nine removal determinations were modified to censure, one removal was modified to admonition, two censures were modified to admonition, and one censure was

² The Stipulation was signed on April 19, 2024. The Commission issued an order accepting it on May 2, 2024.

rejected and the charges dismissed. The Court remitted one matter to the Commission for further proceedings.

Counsel

Judge Robichaud was represented by Trey Smith, Esq., 287 North Greenbush Road, Troy, New York 12180 (518) 621-3614.

The Commission was represented by Deputy Administrator Cathleen S. Cenci, Senior Attorney Kathleen E. Klein, and Senior Investigator Laura Misjak.

Background Information on Judge Robichaud

First took office: 1996

Current term expires: December 31, 2025

Year Admitted to NYS Bar: 1990

Members of the Commission

The Commission members serve four-year terms. A list of members is appended.

The Public File

The stipulation and order are attached.

MEMBERS OF THE STATE COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL CONDUCT

Member	Appointing Authority	Term End
Joseph W. Belluck, Esq., Chair	Governor Kathy Hochul	March 31, 2028
Taa Grays, Esq., Vice Chair	Senate President Pro Tem Andrea Stewart-Cousins	March 31, 2027
Hon. Fernando M. Camacho	Chief Judge Rowan Wilson	March 31, 2028
Brian C. Doyle, Esq.	Senate Minority Leader Robert G. Ortt	March 31, 2028
Hon. John A. Falk	Former Chief Judge Janet DiFiore	March 31, 2025
Hon. Robert J. Miller	Governor Kathy Hochul	March 31, 2026
Nina M. Moore	Governor Kathy Hochul	March 31, 2027
Marvin Ray Raskin, Esq.	Assembly Speaker Carl E. Heastie	March 31, 2026
Graham B. Seiter, Esq.	Assembly Minority Leader William A. Barclay	March 31, 2025
Hon. Anil C. Singh	Chief Judge Rowan Wilson	March 31, 2026
Akosua Garcia Yeboah	Former Governor Andrew M. Cuomo	March 31, 2025