

NEW YORK STATE COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL CONDUCT

ROBERT H. TEMBECKJIAN ADMINISTRATOR & COUNSEL

MARISA E. HARRISON PUBLIC INFORMATION OFFICER

CORNING TOWER, SUITE 2301 EMPIRE STATE PLAZA ALBANY, NEW YORK 12223

518-453-4600 518-299-1757 TELEPHONE FACSIMILE www.cjc.ny.gov

NEWS RELEASE

June 18, 2024

Contact:

Marisa E. Harrison, Public Information Officer (518) 453-4600

Town Justice in Columbia County Resigns While Under Investigation

John J. Nevers, a Justice of the New Lebanon Town Court, Columbia County, resigned while under investigation by the New York State Commission on Judicial Conduct.

In May 2024, the Commission apprised Judge Nevers that it was investigating complaints alleging various misconduct, including his inappropriate dismissal of a traffic ticket, the failure to disqualify from a case despite a longstanding friendship with the defendant, and unpreparedness and unnecessary delay in handling an eviction matter. It also came to the Commission's attention that he appeared to have been unable to perform judicial duties since a medical emergency in late 2023.

Judge Nevers resigned from office on May 30, 2024, and agreed never to seek or accept judicial office at any time in the future. The Commission accepted a stipulation to that effect signed by the judge and the Commission's Administrator.¹

Judge Nevers waived the statutory provision of confidentiality applicable to Commission proceedings, to the limited extent that the stipulation and Commission's order accepting it would be public.

¹ The Stipulation was signed on May 28, 2024. The Commission issued an order accepting it on June 13, 2024.

Judge Nevers, who is not an attorney, has been a Justice of the New Lebanon Town Court since 1996. His current term would have expired on December 31, 2027.

The stipulation and the Commission's order can be found on the Commission's website: www.cjc.ny.gov.

Statement by Commission Administrator

Commission Administrator Robert H. Tembeckjian made the following statement.

"The Commission on Judicial Conduct has authority to discipline a judge for misconduct or retire a judge due to medical disability. Under these circumstances, Judge Nevers' decision to step down and permanently retire was an appropriate disposition."

Statistics Relating to Prior Commission Decisions

The Commission has accepted 136 such permanent resignation stipulations since the procedure was instituted in 2003.

Since 1978, the Commission has also issued 283 determinations of admonition against judges in New York State, 351 determinations of censure and 183 determinations of removal.

The Court of Appeals has reviewed 102 Commission determinations. The Court accepted the Commission's sanctions in 86 cases (77 of which were removals, six were censures and three were admonitions). Of the remaining 16 cases, two sanctions were increased from censure to removal, and 13 were reduced: nine removal determinations were modified to censure, one removal was modified to admonition, two censures were modified to admonition, and one censure was rejected and the charges dismissed. The Court remitted one matter to the Commission for further proceedings.

Counsel

In the proceedings before the Commission, Judge Nevers represented himself.

The Commission was represented by Deputy Administrator Cathleen S. Cenci, Staff Attorney Shruti Joshi, and Senior Investigator Ryan Fitzpatrick.

Background Information on Judge Nevers

First took office: 1996

Current term expires: December 31, 2027

Members of the Commission

The Commission members serve four-year terms. A list of members is noted below.

The Public File

The stipulation and order are attached.

MEMBERS OF THE STATE COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL CONDUCT

Member	Appointing Authority	Term End
Joseph W. Belluck, Esq., Chair	Governor Kathy Hochul	March 31, 2028
Taa Grays, Esq., Vice Chair	Senate President Pro Tem Andrea Stewart-Cousins	March 31, 2027
Hon. Fernando M. Camacho	Chief Judge Rowan Wilson	March 31, 2028
Brian C. Doyle, Esq.	Senate Minority Leader Robert G. Ortt	March 31, 2028
Hon. John A. Falk	Former Chief Judge Janet DiFiore	March 31, 2025
Hon. Robert J. Miller	Governor Kathy Hochul	March 31, 2026
Nina M. Moore, Ph.D.	Governor Kathy Hochul	March 31, 2027
Marvin Ray Raskin, Esq.	Assembly Speaker Carl E. Heastie	March 31, 2026
Graham B. Seiter, Esq.	Assembly Minority Leader William A. Barclay	March 31, 2025
Hon. Anil C. Singh	Chief Judge Rowan Wilson	March 31, 2026
Akosua Garcia Yeboah	Former Governor Andrew M. Cuomo	March 31, 2025