

NEW YORK STATE COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL CONDUCT

ROBERT H. TEMBECKJIAN ADMINISTRATOR & COUNSEL

CORNING TOWER, SUITE 2301 EMPIRE STATE PLAZA ALBANY, NEW YORK 12223

518-453-4600 518-299-1757 TELEPHONE FACSIMILE www.cjc.ny.gov

NEWS RELEASE

October 17, 2023

Contact: Marisa E. Harrison, Public Information Officer (518) 453-4600

Town Justice in Cayuga County Resigns While Under Investigation for Taking Thousands of Dollars in Court Funds

June Shepardson, a Justice of the Moravia Town and Village Courts, Cayuga County, resigned while under investigation by the New York State Commission on Judicial Conduct for allegedly taking more than \$6,000 in court funds.

The Commission's investigation commenced on August 2, 2023, and Judge Shepardson resigned 30 days later, on September 1, 2023. She agreed never to seek or accept judicial office at any time in the future. The Commission accepted a stipulation to that effect signed by the judge, her attorney, and the Commission's Administrator.¹

Judge Shepardson waived the statutory provision of confidentiality applicable to Commission proceedings, to the limited extent that the stipulation and Commission's order accepting it would be public.

Judge Shepardson, who is not an attorney, had been a Justice of the Moravia Town and Village Courts since 2001. Her current terms would have expired on December 31, 2025, and June 30, 2025, respectively.

MARISA E. HARRISON PUBLIC INFORMATION OFFICER

¹ The Stipulation was signed on October 10, 2023. The Commission issued an order accepting it on October 12, 2023.

The stipulation and the Commission's order can be found on the Commission's website: <u>www.cjc.ny.gov</u>.

Statement by Commission Administrator

Commission Administrator Robert H. Tembeckjian made the following statement.

"Town and village court justices are responsible for safeguarding, reporting and promptly remitting all official monies collected by their courts from fines, fees and other sources. The failure to do so undermines public confidence in the integrity of the judiciary, and the Commission takes seriously any credible allegation that a judge has stolen or otherwise misappropriated such funds."

Statistics Relating to Prior Commission Decisions

The Commission has accepted 129 such permanent resignation stipulations since the procedure was instituted in 2003.

Since 1978, the Commission has also issued 282 determinations of admonition against judges in New York State, 349 determinations of censure and 179 determinations of removal.

The Court of Appeals has reviewed 101 Commission determinations. The Court accepted the Commission's sanctions in 85 cases (76 of which were removals, six were censures and three were admonitions). Of the remaining 16 cases, two sanctions were increased from censure to removal, and 13 were reduced: nine removal determinations were modified to censure, one removal was modified to admonition, two censures were modified to admonition, and one censure was rejected and the charges dismissed. The Court remitted one matter to the Commission for further proceedings. One request for review is pending.

Counsel

Judge Shepardson was represented by J. Justin Woods, Law Offices of J. Justin Woods, PLLC, The Phoenix Building, 2 South Street, Suite 410, Auburn, New York 13021, (315) 506-4477.

The Commission was represented by Deputy Administrator John J. Postel, Senior Attorney M. Kathleen Martin, and Senior Investigator Vanessa Mangan.

October 17, 2023 Page 3

Background Information on Judge Shepardson

First took office:	2001
Current terms would have expired:	
Moravia Town Court	December 31, 2025
Moravia Village Court	June 30, 2025

Members of the Commission

The Commission members serve four-year terms. A list of members is appended.

The Public File

The stipulation and order are attached.

MEMBERS OF THE STATE COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL CONDUCT

Member	Appointing Authority	Term End
Joseph W. Belluck, Esq., Chair	Former Governor Andrew M. Cuomo	March 31, 2024
Taa Grays, Esq., Vice Chair	Senate President Pro Tem Andrea Stewart-Cousins	March 31, 2027
Hon. Fernando M. Camacho	Former Chief Judge Janet DiFiore	March 31, 2024
Hon. John A. Falk	Former Chief Judge Janet DiFiore	March 31, 2025
Hon. Robert J. Miller	Governor Kathy Hochul	March 31, 2026
Nina M. Moore	Governor Kathy Hochul	March 31, 2027
Marvin Ray Raskin, Esq.	Assembly Speaker Carl E. Heastie	March 31, 2026
Ronald J. Rosenberg, Esq.	Former Senate Minority Leader John J. Flanagan	March 31, 2024
Graham B. Seiter, Esq.	Assembly Minority Leader William A. Barclay	March 31, 2025
Hon. Anil C. Singh	Chief Judge Rowan D. Wilson	March 31, 2026
Akosua Garcia Yeboah	Former Governor Andrew M. Cuomo	March 31, 2025