

### NEW YORK STATE COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL CONDUCT

ROBERT H. TEMBECKJIAN ADMINISTRATOR & COUNSEL

MARISA E. HARRISON PUBLIC INFORMATION OFFICER

CORNING TOWER, SUITE 2301 EMPIRE STATE PLAZA ALBANY, NEW YORK 12223

518-453-4600 518-299-1757 TELEPHONE FACSIMILE www.cjc.ny.gov

## **NEWS RELEASE**

September 14, 2023

Contact:

Marisa E. Harrison, Public Information Officer (518) 453-4600

# Colgate University Professor Nina M. Moore Appointed to Judicial Conduct Commission by Governor Kathy Hochul

Nina M. Moore has been appointed to the New York State Commission on Judicial Conduct by Governor Kathy Hochul, for a four-year term ending March 31, 2027. She is a Professor of Political Science, and the Director of the Forum on Race and Public Policy, at Colgate University.

Dr. Moore graduated *magna cum laude* and Phi Beta Kappa from Knox College and earned both her master's degree and Ph.D. in political science at the University of Chicago. Prior to Colgate, she taught at DePaul University, Loyola University of Chicago, and the University of Minnesota.

Dr. Moore is the author of three books: Governing Race: Policy Process and the Politics of Race, The Political Roots of Racial Tracking in American Criminal Justice, and Toeing the Line: The Supreme Court and the Politics of Affirmative Action (forthcoming). Her research and teaching center on race and institutions.

Dr. Moore is named in Princeton Review's *Best 300 Professors in the U.S.* and has served in numerous faculty leadership posts at Colgate, by appointment and peer election, including a term as Chair of the Political Science Department. Beyond Colgate she has worked as a consultant on a mayoral and presidential campaign

and is the recipient of several outside grants. She previously served as a New York State Senate appointee to the state Advisory Council on Underage Alcohol Consumption and Substance Abuse. She is on the editorial board of the *Ralph* Bunche Journal of Public Affairs and a member of the American Political Science Association, the Midwest Political Science Association, and the National Conference of Black Political Scientists.

Dr. Moore is an active member of the Syracuse, NY community where she has served on not-for-profit boards, is a regular panelist on the PBS television series *Ivory Tower*, and is an active member of her church congregation.

Dr. Moore previously served on the Commission from 2009 to 2013 as an appointee of Governor David A. Paterson. She succeeds Jodie Corngold, who served on the Commission from 2013 to 2023.

Additional information on Dr. Moore and the other members of the Commission can be found on the Commission's website: www.cjc.ny.gov.

#### **Background on the Commission**

The Commission was established in 1978 by the New York State Constitution to review complaints of misconduct and disability against judges and justices of the State Unified Court System and, where appropriate, to discipline publicly those judges found to have engaged in misconduct.

The Commission is composed of 11 members, all of whom serve without pay. The Governor appoints four members (two of whom must be non-lawyers/non-judges), the Chief Judge of the State of New York appoints three members (all of whom must be judges) and the four leaders of the State Legislature appoint one each.

The Commission has a full-time staff operating from offices in New York City, Albany and Rochester.

### MEMBERS OF THE STATE COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL CONDUCT

Member	Appointing Authority	Term End
Joseph W. Belluck, Esq., Chair	Former Governor Andrew M. Cuomo	March 31, 2024
Taa Grays, Esq., Vice Chair	Senate President Pro Tem Andrea Stewart-Cousins	March 31, 2027
Hon. Fernando M. Camacho	Former Chief Judge Janet DiFiore	March 31, 2024
Hon. John A. Falk	Former Chief Judge Janet DiFiore	March 31, 2025
Hon. Robert J. Miller	Governor Kathy Hochul	March 31, 2026
Nina M. Moore	Governor Kathy Hochul	March 31, 2027
Marvin Ray Raskin, Esq.	Assembly Speaker Carl E. Heastie	March 31, 2026
Ronald J. Rosenberg, Esq.	Former Senate Minority Leader John J. Flanagan	March 31, 2024
Graham B. Seiter, Esq.	Assembly Minority Leader William A. Barclay	March 31, 2025
Hon. Anil C. Singh	Chief Judge Rowan D. Wilson	March 31, 2026
Akosua Garcia Yeboah	Former Governor Andrew M. Cuomo	March 31, 2025