

#### NEW YORK STATE COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL CONDUCT

ROBERT H. TEMBECKJIAN ADMINISTRATOR & COUNSEL

61 BROADWAY, SUITE 1200 NEW YORK, NEW YORK 10006 MARISA E. HARRISON PUBLIC RECORDS OFFICER

646-386-4800 646-458-0037 TELEPHONE FACSIMILE www.cjc.ny.gov

# **NEWS RELEASE**

September 19, 2016

Contacts:	Robert H. Tembeckjian, Administrator
	(646) 386-4800
	Marisa E. Harrison, Public Records Officer
	(646) 386-4791

## Justice Leslie G. Leach Appointed to the Commission

Chief Judge Janet DiFiore has appointed Queens County Supreme Court Justice Leslie G. Leach to the New York State Commission on Judicial Conduct for a term ending March 31, 2020.

Justice Leach is a graduate of Queens College of the City University of New York, the Columbia University School of Law and the University of Massachusetts, where he earned a master's degree in labor studies. He previously served as a Judge of the New York City Criminal Court from 1993 to 2003, as an Acting Justice of the Supreme Court from 1995 to 2003, and as an elected Justice of the Supreme Court from 2004 to 2007, serving as the Administrative Judge of the Eleventh Judicial District, Queens County. In 2007, Justice Leach left the bench to serve as Executive Deputy Attorney General of State Counsel under then-Attorney General Andrew M. Cuomo. From 2011 to 2012, Justice Leach served as Appointments Secretary to Governor Cuomo, then taught as Distinguished Lecturer at Queens College. In 2015 he returned to the Supreme Court bench.

Justice Leach succeeds Supreme Court Justice Sylvia G. Ash, who recently left the Commission and is now serving as Presiding Justice of the Commercial Division in Kings County.

Additional information on Justice Leach and the other members of the Commission can be found on the Commission's website: <u>www.cjc.ny.gov</u>.

### **Background on the Commission**

The Commission was established in 1978 by the New York State Constitution to review complaints of misconduct and disability against judges and justices of the State Unified Court System and, where appropriate, to discipline publicly those judges found to have engaged in misconduct.

The Commission is composed of 11 members, all of whom serve without pay. The Governor appoints four members (two of whom must be non-lawyers/non-judges), the Chief Judge of the State of New York appoints three members (all of whom must be judges) and the four leaders of the State Legislature appoint one each. There is currently one vacancy on the Commission, to be filled by the Governor.

The Commission has a full-time staff operating from offices in New York City, Albany and Rochester.

Member	Appointing Authority	Term End
Joseph W. Belluck, Esq., Chair	Governor Andrew M. Cuomo	March 31, 2020
Paul B. Harding, Esq., Vice Chair	Assembly Minority Leader Brian M. Kolb	March 31, 2017
Hon. Rolando T. Acosta	Former Chief Judge Jonathan Lippman	March 31, 2018
Joel Cohen, Esq.	Former Assembly Speaker Sheldon Silver	March 31, 2018
Jodie Corngold	Governor Andrew M. Cuomo	March 31, 2019
Richard D. Emery, Esq.	Senate Minority Leader Andrea Stewart-Cousins	March 31, 2020
Hon. Thomas A. Klonick	Former Chief Judge Jonathan Lippman	March 31, 2017
Hon. Leslie G. Leach	Chief Judge Janet DiFiore	March 31, 2020
Richard A. Stoloff, Esq.	Former Senate President Pro Tem Dean Skelos	March 31, 2019
Hon. David A. Weinstein	Governor Andrew M. Cuomo	March 31, 2018
Vacant	Governor	March 31, 2017

## MEMBERS OF THE STATE COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL CONDUCT