

NEW YORK STATE COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL CONDUCT

ROBERT H. TEMBECKJIAN ADMINISTRATOR & COUNSEL

61 BROADWAY, SUITE 1200 NEW YORK, NEW YORK 10006

646-386-4800 646-458-0037 TELEPHONE FACSIMILE www.cjc.ny.gov MARISA E. HARRISON RECORDS ACCESS OFFICER

NEWS RELEASE

October 16, 2012

Contacts:

Robert H. Tembeckjian, Administrator (646) 386-4800 Marisa E. Harrison, Records Access Officer (646) 386-4791

Judge David A. Weinstein Appointed to Commission

Court of Claims Judge David A. Weinstein has been appointed to the New York State Commission on Judicial Conduct by Governor Andrew M. Cuomo. Judge Weinstein fills the vacancy created by the resignation yesterday of Presiding Justice Karen K. Peters of the Appellate Division, Third Department. According to law, Judge Weinstein will complete the remainder of Judge Peters' term ending March 31, 2014.

Judge Peters, a Justice of the Supreme Court who has served on the Appellate Division since 1994 and was designated Presiding Justice by April 2012 by Governor Cuomo, said that the demands of her new position made continued service on the Commission difficult. She was initially appointed to the Commission in 2000 by then-Chief Judge Judith S. Kaye.

Judge Weinstein was appointed to the Court of Claims in 2011 by Governor Cuomo, for a term ending in 2018. He graduated from Wesleyan University in 1990 and Harvard Law School in 1994, where he was Notes Editor for the

Harvard Human Rights Journal. Judge Weinstein served previously as Assistant Counsel and First Assistant Counsel to Governors Cuomo, David A. Paterson and Eliot L. Spitzer, as a New York State Assistant Attorney General, as an Associate in the law firm of Debevoise & Plimpton, as Law Clerk to United States District Court Judge Charles S. Haight (SDNY) and as *Pro Se* Law Clerk to the United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit. He also served as an Adjunct Professor of Legal Writing at New York Law School and has written numerous articles for legal and other publications.

Additional information on Judge Weinstein, Presiding Justice Peters and the other members of the Commission can be found on the Commission's web site: www.cjc.ny.gov.

Background on the Commission

The Commission was established in 1978 by the New York State Constitution to review complaints of misconduct and disability against judges and justices of the State Unified Court System and, where appropriate, to discipline publicly those judges found to have engaged in misconduct.

The Commission is composed of 11 members, all of whom serve without pay. The Governor appoints four members (two of whom must be non-lawyers/non-judges), the Chief Judge of the State of New York appoints three members (all of whom must be judges) and the four leaders of the State Legislature appoint one each. There is currently one vacancy on the Commission, to be filled by the Governor.

The Commission has a full-time staff operating from offices in New York City, Albany and Rochester.

MEMBERS OF THE STATE COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL CONDUCT

Member	Appointing Authority	Term End
Hon. Thomas A. Klonick, Chair	Chief Judge Jonathan Lippman	March 31, 2013
Hon. Terry Jane Ruderman, Vice Chair	Chief Judge Jonathan Lippman	March 31, 2016
Hon. Rolando T. Acosta	Chief Judge Jonathan Lippman	March 31, 2014
Joseph W. Belluck, Esq.	Governor Andrew M. Cuomo	March 31, 2016
Joel Cohen, Esq.	Assembly Speaker Sheldon Silver	March 31, 2014
Richard D. Emery, Esq.	Senate Minority Leader John L. Sampson	March 31, 2016
Paul B. Harding, Esq.	Former Assembly Minority Leader James Tedisco	March 31, 2013
Nina M. Moore	Former Governor David A. Paterson	March 31, 2013
Richard A. Stoloff, Esq.	Senate President Pro Tem Dean Skelos	March 31, 2015
Hon. David A. Weinstein	Governor Andrew M. Cuomo	March 31, 2014
Vacant	Governor	March 31, 2015