

ROBERT H. TEMBECKJIAN ADMINISTRATOR & COUNSEL

### NEW YORK STATE COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL CONDUCT

BETH S. BAR PUBLIC INFORMATION OFFICER

61 BROADWAY NEW YORK, NEW YORK 10006

646-386-4791 646-458-0037 TELEPHONE FACSIMILE www.scjc.state.ny.us

# **NEWS RELEASE**

FOR RELEASE April 14, 2010

Contacts:

Robert H. Tembeckjian, Administrator
(646) 386-4800

Beth S. Bar, Public Information Officer
(646) 386-4791

### Justice Karen K. Peters Appointed to New Term on Commission

Governor David A. Paterson has appointed Justice Karen K. Peters to a four-year term on the Commission, through March 31, 2014.

Justice Peters sits on the Appellate Division, Third Department, and has been a member of the Commission since 2000. She received her B.A. from George Washington University (*cum laude*) and her J.D. from New York University (*cum laude*; Order of the Coif).

Additional information on Justice Peters and the other members of the Commission can be found on the Commission's website, <a href="www.scjc.state.ny.us">www.scjc.state.ny.us</a>.

#### **Short Biography of Justice Peters**

From 1973 to 1979, Justice Peters was engaged in the private practice of law in Ulster County, served as an Assistant District Attorney in Dutchess County and was an Assistant Professor at the State University of New York at New Paltz, where she developed curricula and taught courses in the area of criminal law,

gender discrimination and the law, and civil rights and civil liberties. In 1979 she was selected as the first counsel to the newly created New York State Division on Alcoholism and Alcohol Abuse and remained counsel until 1983. In 1983 she was the Director of the State Assembly Government Operations Committee. Elected to the bench in 1983, she remained Family Court Judge for the County of Ulster until 1992, when she became the first woman elected to the Supreme Court in the Third Department. Justice Peters was appointed to the Appellate Division, Third Department, by Governor Mario M. Cuomo on February 3, 1994. She was reappointed by Governor George E. Pataki in 1999 and 2004 and by Governor Eliot L. Spitzer in 2007.

Justice Peters has served as Chairperson of the Gender Bias Committee of the Third Judicial District, and on numerous State Bar Committees, including the New York State Bar Association Special Committee on Alcoholism and Drug Abuse, and the New York State Bar Association Special Committee on Procedures for Judicial Discipline. Throughout her career, Justice Peters has taught and lectured extensively in the areas of Family Law, Judicial Education and Administration, Criminal Law, Appellate Practice and Alcohol and the Law.

#### **Background on the Commission**

The Commission was established in 1978 by the New York State Constitution to review complaints of misconduct and disability against judges and justices of the State Unified Court System and, where appropriate, to discipline publicly those judges found to have engaged in misconduct.

The Commission is composed of 11 members, all of whom serve without pay. The Governor appoints four members (one of whom must be a judge), the Chief Judge of the State of New York appoints three members (all of whom must be judges) and the four leaders of the State Legislature appoint one each. The Commission has a full-time staff operating from offices in Albany, Rochester and New York.

# MEMBERS OF THE STATE COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL CONDUCT

Member	Appointing Authority	Term End
Hon. Thomas A. Klonick, Chair	Chief Judge Jonathan Lippman	March 31, 2013
Stephen R. Coffey, Esq., Vice Chair	Former Senate President Pro Tem Joseph L. Bruno	March 31, 2011
Hon. Rolando T. Acosta	Chief Judge Jonathan Lippman	March 31, 2014
Joseph W. Belluck, Esq.	Governor David A. Paterson	March 31, 2012
Richard D. Emery, Esq.	Former Senate Minority Leader Malcolm A. Smith	March 31, 2012
Paul B. Harding, Esq.	Former Assembly Minority Leader James Tedisco	March 31, 2013
Elizabeth B. Hubbard	Governor David A. Paterson	March 31, 2011
Nina M. Moore	Governor David A. Paterson	March 31, 2013
Hon. Karen K. Peters	Governor David A. Paterson	March 31, 2014
Hon. Terry Jane Ruderman	Former Chief Judge Judith S. Kaye	March 31, 2012
Vacant	Assembly Speaker Sheldon Silver	March 31, 2014